It’s About Time

The two critical issues facing our society that I’m most concerned about are exploding economic inequality and the exploding amount of public and private resources spent on healthcare. This blog is about the latter. For the former, I recommend Inequality.org. I’m choosing to blog about the financial crisis caused by our expensive healthcare system because it feels like the elephant in the room that is being ignored. Ignored in our Federal debt crisis and state budget crunch. Ignored amongst stagnant wages, personal debt and bankruptcies.  Ignored as the elephant in the room eats everything while higher education, affordable housing, mental health services, early childhood intervention programs, vocational training, and a myriad of others eat the crumbs that fall off the table.

I will provoke. I will poke. I will try not to be too wonkish. I’m not an expert and I don’t know it all. I hope I can learn from you. I trust we will learn from each other.

We managed to avert default as a nation this week, but it remains to be seen whether our political leaders will have the courage to have an honest conversation with the American people and work with each other craft sustainable budgets that meet needs and live within our means. The key component will be Medicare, or shall I say, El Elefante.

Dave Mayeranderson

About dmayeranderson

Husband, father, citizen, homeowner, Realtor and real estate investor.
This entry was posted in entitlements, medicare, health care. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s About Time

  1. Melanie Mayeranderson says:

    I’ve always wanted to be married to a blogger.

  2. Valerie Oden says:

    I’m so glad you’re doing this, Dave! I look forward to more of your insightful, justice-oriented thoughts.

Leave a Reply

